Skip to content

Baylesa United Beat Nasarawa, Clinch First FA Title, Qualify For CAF Confed Cup

Aiteo Cup Final: Baylesa United Beat Nasarawa United, Clinch First Title

Bayelsa United won the Aiteo Cup for the first time edging out Nasarawa United 4-3 on penalties at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on Sunday night, reports

The highly entertaining game ended in a 2-2 draw in regulation time.

Inikurogha Okardi gave Baylesa United the lead in the 19th minute.

Chinedu Ohanachom however equalised for Nasarawa United within seconds.

Emo James scored the second goal for Bayelsa United, while Aliyu Abdullahi netted Nasarawa United’s second of the evening.

Both teams failed to register a goal after the break.

Bayelsa United are now the second team from the second tier to win the FA Cup after defunct Dolphins Football Club of Port Harcourt claimed the title in 2011.

They will compete in the CAF Confederation Cup next season.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: